One Week All In

I’m waving at the one-week mark that’s receding into the distance. It’s been an eating trial, but I am conquering.

Very slowly. One bite at a time.

My friends had a housewarming party over the weekend, and I literally jumped up and down with joy when I saw their spread: guacamole, queso, refried beans, sour cream, and all manner of soft-taco/burrito trimmings. This I could eat without fear.

Also, the ice cream cake. So scrumptious. I did have to surreptitiously wrangle Heath Bar chunks out of my mouth and back onto my plate (after removing the chocolate coating, of course). *sigh* Toffee, you are close to the top of my list of things I will eat with great gusto once the ol’ metal’s gone.

This week’s adventures include a trip to the dentist. My every-six-months appointment happened to fall 1.5 weeks after the coronation of my bottom teeth, a fact about which I’m quite happy.

Let it be known (and let my dentist-loathing friends cringe): I love my dentist and dental hygienist. I’m pretty sure they’re the only ones who’ve ever done dental anything on me (aside from the braces at the oral surgeon who removed my wisdom teeth). I will cry when he retires. I honestly have no idea who I’d go to if/when that happens. He rocks. They rock. I won the dentist-and-hygienist jackpot.

I’m also pleased that this appointment is nigh because I fear…

…that I’ve got a cavity.

A cavity.

Yours Truly, who so dutifully brushes and flosses and mouthwashes (at least twice a day!). Who hasn’t had a single cavity since she was in the single digits of age (and those were all baby teeth anyway).

Color me shocked.

I’m very much hoping that it’s just a fleck of, like, pepper or something that neither brushing nor swishing nor tiny pipecleaners can dislodge. Regardless, the truth will out soon, so I’m trying not to worry about it.

So yeah! I think that pretty much sums up my first week with all the braces.

In bonus news, my mother finally took the metallic plunge and got braces herself. It’ll be fun tracking her progress. Mommy-daughter braces! 😀

The Rundown

  • What’re your orthodontia accessories? Le top and le bottom.
  • Any pain today? Not reeeeeally.
  • What sort, would you say? A sort of disconcerting pressure that’s mostly confined to my bottom front teeth.
  • Do you miss anything? Eating without fear of bracket breakage.
  • Looking forward to anything? Eating with less fear of bracket breakage (this will come with time, I think).
  • On the bright side… Niko buys lo mein for me. 🙂
Comment away!

