The Spacer Saga: Day Two

Another spacer has bitten the dust toast.

Apparently the back upper left spacer was so effective that the chewing motions made by masticating a piece of toast (thoroughly browned so as to avoid any taffy-esque properties) caused it to spring from its toothy cage—a most startling surprise to a half-awake me this morning.

Because I was half-awake, I immediately despaired of my breakfast and offered the uneaten third of my toast slice to my husband (who was already halfway through a burrito), lamenting the loss of my spacer, which was languishing most ingloriously in a pb&saliva smear on my plate (TMI?).

“Are you sure?” he asked me, eying my proffered toast remnants.

I sighed and made vacillating protestations, but I eventually just went for it and polished off the toast.

Once I arrived at work, I phoned the ortho office.

“Hello! It’s me. I’m afraid I’m sorta becoming That Patient, but I lost the top left spacer all the way in the back this morning while I was eating some toast…”

The girl who answered the phone consoled me (professionally) and consulted a second tech. The verdict: Despite the fact that I’d lost a spacer in under 24 hours, it was possible that it had created the desired amount of space in that timespan. Based on this conclusion, my marching orders were to alert them if any others dislodged themselves, and they would be replaced bright and early on Monday morning, roughly 24 hours prior to the application of my top row of braces.

I have since conducted a “floss test” on the space between the teeth, and I was able to wriggle a strip of floss between those two teeth with ease. Prior to the spacer’s introduction, I had never been able to wrangle any floss whatsoever back there. +10 for fast-acting spacer action.

In light of today’s events, I will be keeping a running list of things I’ve eaten. Maybe a pattern will emerge? (Either way, it’s a way to trick myself into food tracking, something I’ve been meaning to do for a while.)

What I’ve Eaten Thus Far Today

  • Three-fifths of a slice of toast topped with chunky peanut butter and cocoa almond spread (think Nutella’s almondy, off-brand little brother)
    • Success? Mmm… lost upper left back spacer (already on its way out).
  • Peanut butter chocolate chip Lärabar*
    • Success? Mostly! Peanut shards are kinda lodged in my teeth (like usual), but they seem to be loosening on their own (*whew*).
      *Consumption of said Lärabar took over half of the workday to complete. Trying to chew tiny, tiny peanut chunks with your front teeth is time-consuming. Do not particularly recommend.
  • Blueberry-on-the-bottom Greek yogurt
    • Success? Yep. Goes down smooth like a fine… Greek whiskey? I was concerned about strips of blueberry skin clinging to the spacers, but that doesn’t seem to be an issue.
    • Chicken lo mein from a local favorite (fun fact: the hole-in-the-wall restaurant where Niko and I had our first date! *nostalgia*) ‹This bullet is wigging out. Pretend it’s a first-level bullet.
    • Success? Yea, verily! Being familiar with the softness of this locale’s lo mein noodles and moistness (Dead Like Me, anyone?) of their chicken, I figured hoped this would be a wise meal choice. (I was craving this hardcore. Graaaaatification!)

Toothy discomfort kiiiiiinda makes you want to utilize your teeth as little as possible. Yikes.

And now, the usual suspects!

The Rundown

  • What’re your orthodontia accessories? Spacers in the contact points between all (well, except one) of my top and bottom molars.
  • Any pain today? Ish.
  • What sort, would you say? Some soreness—just a tadge more than yesterday. It still feels like I have chunks of food lodged between my teeth. The only time I notice any groan-eliciting discomfort is when I press my teeth together hard enough to, say, crush a small bite of chicken.
  • Do you miss anything? Steak (but that’s a longstanding heartache). As far as immediate things to miss, probably the saltwater taffy I purchased in Sacramento. (It’s been years since I’d bought taffy, and then I go and handpick some mere weeks before my dental work begins. Planning fail.)
  • Looking forward to anything? It may sound masochistic, but I’ve gotta say the top row of braces.
Comment away!

